Meet Salman Khan. He is ‘Being Human’

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Meet Salman Khan. He is ‘Being Human’. And hence has found a place on my blog.

Yes, I am referring to the camel who is named after Salman Khan. And for the uninitiated, Salman Khan is a popular and one of the leading actors of Indian cinema. He has founded a registered charitable trust called ‘Being Human’ for the cause of the under-privileged that sells clothes and merchandise branded as ‘Being Human’ for the cause.

My true hero is in this picture though. I met this proud camel at the top of Kalo Dungar (the highest point of the Great Rann of Kutch, White Desert in Gujarat, west India. He carried an aura of that of a mighty majesty and appeared to ignore me. I began flattering him by asking if he even knows how handsome he is, adorned in the vibrant accessories, perched atop a hill that offers a spectacular panoramic view of the white desert as far as your eyes can reach. He continued to ignore me.

I cajoled him to smile at my camera at least once so I can make him look doubly gorgeous. Flattered that he was, he thought for a while and then gave in. YES. He grinned :o)

He carries tourists/travelers on his back for a ride to the vantage point offering a magnificent view of the White Desert before dropping them back to the starting point (about a mile), all for a dollar. I am told, on an average he earns $10 a day.

Ribbet collage


Leave a comment